The messenger logo

Eastern Partnership in action

By Messenger Staff
Monday, May 4
The EU has started discussion of the Eastern Partnership Programme plan. The signing of this document is scheduled for May 7 in Prague. This programme is designed to help six post-Soviet countries, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

The document says that the Eastern Partnership Programme is based on fundamental values - democracy, rule of law, respect for international law, human rights, the market economy and stable development. The text also says that the Eastern Partnership’s major purpose is to create conditions in which EU and EP countries can strengthen their political cooperation and achieve further economic integration.

The programme will also offer substantial support for creating Western-type public institutions and the liberalization of visa regimes and free trade modes to integrate partner countries with EU markets. As regards Georgia, Moldova and Azerbaijan it is stated that peaceful resolution of conflicts should be exercised.