The messenger logo

Azerbaijan invited to G20

By Messenger Staff
Monday, February 20
Azerbaijan has been invited to attend the next G20 summit, held June18-20 in Mexico. Azeri minister of Foreign Affairs, Elmar Mamediarov, will represent his country.

The invitation suggests that Azerbaijan is becoming a larger player in the global economy, due primarily to its oil wealth.

Other invitees for 2012 include Austria, Columbia, Chile, Norway, Algeria, Cambodia, Singapore and the UAE. The permanent G20 members are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The G20 is an organization made up of major economies which meet to cooperate on matters related to the international financial system.