The messenger logo

CSTO meets in Russia

By Messenger Staff
Thursday, May 17
On May 15, the Kremlin hosted a session of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), a military alliance made up of Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan.

The meeting was attended by the Presidents of all the signatory countries - Vladimir Putin from Russia, Serzh Sargsyan from Armenia, Alexander Lukashenko from Belarus, Nursultan Nazarbaev from Kazakhstan, Almazbek Atanbaev from Kyrgyzstan, Emomalii Rakhmanov from Tajikistan and Islam Karimov from Uzbekistan.

The organization's activities for past 20 years were evaluated and the prospects of future development were discussed. The participants mostly expressed satisfaction about CSTO's activities, forecasting further development and integration of new states. Issues of terrorism, narco-trafficking, and illegal immigration were also highlighted.

While the CSTO has so far not involved itself in any military conflict, it was agreed that they should develop their peacekeeping activities.