The messenger logo

The Netherlands ratifies EU-Georgia Association Agreement

Thursday, July 9
The Kingdom of Netherlands has ratified the Association Agreement (AA) between Georgia and the European Union (EU).

The Dutch Senate today unanimously supported ratification of Georgia’s AA deal, which included the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA).

The legislative body of the Netherlands voted in favour to ratify the document on April 7, 2015, after which the document was sent to the Senate for consideration.

Under local legislation, the King of the Netherlands will sign the document after the official ratification.

The deal has already been ratified by European Parliament and 17 of 28 EU member states.

EU Association deal must be ratified by all 28 EU member countries before they can be fully implemented.

The AA deal was signed by Georgia and the EU on June 27, 2014 in Brussels. (