The messenger logo

UN council statement on Georgia’s occupied regions

By Messenger Staff
Monday, October 3
Georgia’s delegation at the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) made a statement on behalf of 46 nations of the UNHRC at the end of the last week, addressing the “hard situation” in Georgia’s two occupied regions.

The statement was signed by all UNHRC member nations - except Russia - and revealed “deep concern” over the hard human rights and humanitarian situation in Georgia’s breakaway regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali (South Ossetia), which are now occupied by Russia.

The document was based on a statement of the High Commissioner of UNHRC about Georgia’s de-facto areas, voiced on September 13 2016.

The declaration highlighted the importance of access of international monitoring missions to the occupied areas, recognised as independent republics by Russia in 2008, and drafting of “unbiased reports” regarding the developments in Abkhazia and Tskhinvali.

The signatories once again confirmed their support for Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

The UNHRC is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system made up of 47 states responsible for the promotion and protection of all human rights around the globe