The messenger logo

Who will lead Parliamentary posts?

By Gvantsa Gabekhadze
Tuesday, November 8
The ruling Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia (GDDG) party has released a list of its members who will lead different positions in the future Parliament, which is composed of 150 lawmakers.

The GDDG, which has won 115 seats in Parliament after last month’s race, says its candidate for the Parliament chair is the party’s current Executive Secretary, Irakli Kobakhidze.

The First Deputy Chairman of Parliament will be Tamar Chugoshvili, the ex-head of Georgia’s Young Lawyers’ Association and adviser to ex-Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili in human rights issues.

Other Deputy Chairmen will be GergiVolsky, an expert in political issues and member of parliament in 2012-2016, and Zviad Dzidziguri, the leader of the Conservative Party, and a member of Parliament in 1990, 2003 and 2012.

The following officials will take up the respective posts:

Deputy Chairman from Adjara Autonomous Republic - Ilya Nakashidze, a doctor.
Archil Talakvadze, an ex- Deputy Interior Minister was named as the majority leader.
Chairman of the Georgian Dream faction - MamukaMdinaradze,a lawyer, Deputy Chairman – Dimitri Samkharadze, a lawyer.

Chairman of the Agricultural Committee – Otar Danelia, ex-Minister of Agriculture, First Deputy Chairman -Gela Samkharauli, Deputy Chairman - Irakli Shiolashvili.

Chairman of the Education, Science and Culture Committee - Mariam Jashi.
First Deputy Chairman of the Education, Science and Culture Committee – Gennady Margvelashvili.
Deputy Chairman of the Education, Science and Culture Commitee – GuguliMagradze.

Chairman of the Environment and Natural Resources Committee - Kakha Kuchava.
First Deputy Chairman - Zaza Khutsishvili.
Deputy Chairman - EndzelaMachavariani.

Chairman of the Sector Economy and Economic Policy - Roman Kakulia.
First Deputy Chairman - Giorgi Begadze.
Deputy Chairman - Revaz Arveladze.

Chairman of the Diaspora and Caucasus Issues Committee – Zviad Kvachantiradze.
First Deputy Chairman - Salome Zurabishvili.
Deputy Chairman - Irakli Mezurnishvili.

Chairman of the Committee for European Integration - Tamar Khulordava.
First Deputy Chairman -Irina Pruidze.
Deputy Chairman - Beka Natsvlishvili.

Chairman of the Defense and Security Committee – Irakli Sesiashvili.
First Deputy Chairman - Irakli Beraia.
Deputy Chairman - KobaKobaladze.

Chairman of the Legal Affairs Committee - Eka Beselia.
First Deputy Chairman -VanoZardiashvili.
Deputy Chairman - Davit Matikashvili.

Chairman of the Regional Policy and Governance Committee - Giorgi Liluashvili.
First Deputy Chairman - MerabKvaraia.
Deputy Chairman - KobaLursmanashvili.

Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee - SophieKatsarava.
First Deputy Chairman - Nino Goguadze.
Deputy Chairman – Dimitri Tskhitishvili.

Chairman of the Procedural Issues and Rules Committee - Giorgi Kakhiani.
First Deputy Chairman - Guram Macharashvili.
Deputy Chairman - ShalvaKiknavelidze.

Chairman of the Budget and Finance Committee - Irakli Kovzanadze.
First Deputy Chairman - PaataKvizhinadze.
Deputy Chairman - Irakli Beraia.

Chairman of the Health Care and Social Issues Committee - Akaki Zoidze.
First Deputy Chairman – Dimitri Khundadze.
Deputy Chairman - Levan Koberidze.

The party continues to consult about candidates for the Committee of Human Rights and Civil Integration and the Committee of Sports and Youth Affairs.