The messenger logo

US adopts law against Russia

By Gvantsa Gabekhadze
Monday, May 8
The US House of Representatives and the Senate have adopted a law against 'Russia's secret influence' which President Donald Trump subsequently signed. Furthermore, 100 million USD was offered in support for post-Soviet countries to encourage their own media and civil sector.

One section of the law concerns Georgia, and highlights that the US administration will not have the right to financially support those countries which recognize Georgia’s de facto regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali as independent republics, as Russia demands.

The draft, which is made up of 1,665 pages, was initially approved by the House of Representatives.

Georgia’s Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze says the law shows “unprecedented support to Georgia” and it will be a “most important lever” for Georgia in the fight for the country’s de-occupation.

“With this legislation, the US protects Georgia’s sovereignty, unity and adds special strength to the non-recognition policy of its occupied regions,” Georgia’s President Giorgi Margvelashvili said.

The opposition also shares the view and highlighted the importance of such a law.

Amid the comments over the law, Georgia’s Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili announced his US trip scheduled for May 8-10.

Kvirikashvili’s press office says the trip came after the invitation of US Vice President Mike Pence.

Within the visit, the Prime Minister will meet Pence, as well as Secretary of State Rex Tillerson.

Kvirikashvili is also scheduled to hold meetings with the heads of the Senate committees and representatives of Washington D.C.-based think tanks.

Meanwhile ,the European Commission has officially named Russia as a main participant in the Russia-Georgia 2008 war.

Russia continues to claim that it was not a true participant in the war and that they were only helping the Tskhinvali people and “protecting them from Georgian aggression”.

The whole of the international community except Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua and Nauru recognize Abkhazia and Tskhinvali as integral parts of Georgia.