The messenger logo

Acting Interior Minister Announces Increase of Mobile Groups at Occupation Lines

By Gvantsa Gabekhadze
Wednesday, June 20
(TBILISI)--The acting Interior Minister Giorgi Gakharia told lawmakers on Tuesday that the government of Georgia plans to increase the number of mobile groups at occupation lines of Georgia with de facto regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali.

Gakharia stated that the detailed plan will be aired in the coming months.

“We have plans in relation to the occupation line, but the main component is to develop a technological part in various forms – be it cameras or increase in number of mobile groups. In this regard, we will provide more specific information and a plan in the nearest future," Gakharia stated.

He also said that the ministry is launching a new project which envisages gifting flats to police staff in Tbilisi, Batumi, Kutaisi, Zugdidi and Rustavi.

“The project will boost social guarantees for police employees and will give them an opportunity to plan their lives ,” Gakharia said.

Such projects will also increase motivation amongst youth to seek jobs in the ministry,” Gakharia added.

Gakharia stated that beginning July 1st, 13,200 employees of the ministry will receive increased salaries.

“The increase will be by 200-250 GEL (80-100 USD),” Gakharia stated.

The average salary of police officers is currently 1,000 GEL (410 USD).

The Georgian Dream ruling party candidate for Prime Minister Mamuka Bakhtadze announced on Monday that the number of ministries will decrease from 14 to 11, which will make government’s activity more effective and economical.

Bakhtadze did not name his renewed Cabinet of Ministers today as decrease in the number of ministries requires legal changes.

Bakhtadze said that in the coming days the parliament will vote on the existing Cabinet of Ministers formally and if the Cabinet gains the parliament’s support, they will initiate an amendment to decrease the number of ministries to 11.

Only after the amendment is approved, Bakhtadze said he will name the renewed Cabinet of Ministers.